travel theme: on display

Sunday, October 14: Ailsa’s (Where’s my backpack?) Travel Theme challenge for this week is: On Display. She writes: No matter where you go, there’s always something for sale somewhere. The items on display in local stores are often evocative of the flavours and aesthetics of the culture you’re in and make for really interesting photographs.

I love the colorful things on display in the flower and spice markets near the New Mosque in Istanbul, Turkey.  These are a feast of sights and aromas: Turkish delight, lentils and beans, dried figs and apricots, pistachios and hazelnuts, saffron, henna, olive oil soap.

Click on any of the photos in the gallery for a full-sized slide show.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Retiring Sort
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 19:42:42

    Fabulous gallery – I love the varied colors and textures in the grains and herbs!

    Reply

  2. Jo Bryant
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 02:20:30

    look at all those spices -Heaven

    Reply

  3. valeriedavies
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 11:57:15

    Wonderful, beats a supermarket any day!!!! LOvely pics and what gorgeous colours and foods…

    Reply

    • catbirdinoman
      Nov 05, 2012 @ 18:41:47

      Thank you so much valerie!! I love the Turkish markets!! Sorry it took me so long to reply; I’ve been on vacation and getting ready for vacation and have obviously fallen behind!!

      Reply

  4. latebloomerbuds
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 07:37:43

    Wow, love the vibrancy and I can almost smell the spices! Margie

    Reply

  5. ernstblumenstein
    Jul 17, 2016 @ 22:06:43

    Wunderschöne Bilder aus Istanbul. Ich besuchte diese faszinierende Stadt einige male. Danke dir fürs zeigen. Ernst.

    Reply

    • nomad, interrupted
      Jul 18, 2016 @ 03:31:03

      Thank you, Ernst. I’m sorry to say I don’t speak German, but I was able to translate using an online translator. I’m glad you enjoyed my pictures of Istanbul. Turkey is one of my favorite countries, so I’m very sad to see what is happening there now. Thanks for visiting and commenting. 🙂

      Reply

      • ernstblumenstein
        Jul 18, 2016 @ 23:10:00

        I understand also not so bad but I use also a translator. Ich lebte auf der Durchreise 1965 nach Ersurum-Täbriz-Teheran etwa 3 Wochen in Istanbul. Eine schon damals faszinierende, impulsive Stadt zwischen Asien und Europa. 🙂

Leave a Reply

